My Nanowrimo stories

titleFunny that my second post here should be about something besides game design, but that’s exactly what I’m going to talk about. I attempt the Nanowrimo challenge almost every year. That is National Novel Writing Month. The idea is to write 50,000 words in the month of November, on whatever topic you want. That amounts to around 1,667 words a day. Pretty fun idea, and I have some friends who try as well. I started in 2009, and funnily enough halfway through my story at the time I thought of the core idea that evolved into my Dinosaur Cowboys game.

Anyway I have a full site dedicated to the various stories from Nanowrimo that you can see here: https://calgarynano.wordpress.com/

But I figured I’d mirror my successful stories (which I have managed 3 of 5 years). I missed a few years writing for various reasons (like getting married and having a kid).

  • Anubis Rising: An old man fights a private war against the Egyptian god Anubis who has risen in a small Nevada town. Had some guerrilla warfare concepts, and a nice complete story arc.
  • Highway Cowboys: Car Wars fanfiction of various drivers joining to transport an important cargo down the American coast.
  • Far From Home: Quite unique sci-fi (in my opinion) of humanity revisiting and recapturing their colonies after decades of no contact. I’d really like to expand on this universe, and continue this story at some point.

This year I’m going to try writing again, specifically a fantasy story about a two-headed goblin who finds a sentient sword and a wolf pet. So four characters in one. He struggles against his malicious and evil nature after a chance encounter with a paladin who spares the goblin. Should be interesting. We’ll see if my childhood reading (and re-reading, dozens of times) of R.A. Salvatore will translate into competent fight scenes.

Leave a Comment

