Party of Light damage changes

After a few sessions of Party of Light with my nieces (who the game was originally designed for), I’m considering adding a tiny bit more complexity.

The reason stems of all attacks currently do 1 Stamina of damage. This results in fairly predictable fights, where enemies die at an expected, steady rate.

I’d like to change that. What I would do is first of all change the underlying core dice resolution. I’d change Success to 5+, then switch the difficulty tiers to:

Hard = D6, Normal = D8, Easy = D12, Heroic still D20

This results in odds of 33% Hard, 50% Normal, 66% Easy, and 80% Heroic.
Currently the approach is 4+ Success on D4, D6, D12, so 25%, 50%, 75%, and 85%. So with this change Hard becomes more likely, and Easy is a tiny bit less likely (not extremely happy about that, but the odds are still pretty good).

The second step would be adding a “Damage Dice” of D4 (now that it’s not associated with a difficulty). The Damage Dice in theory should be rolled at the same time, but realistically I imagine it’ll be a second step like how most D&D players do it. The result is the Stamina damage, instead of a set amount of 1. Of course all related Stamina values would be updated (such as total hero Stamina, item effects, etc.)

This also allows for Critical Hits to be a new mechanic. If you roll the max on your to-hit dice, you maybe automatically do the max 4 damage, or roll a bonus D4, or something.

I’d also likely codify and do a minor tweak to the “Powerful Attack” idea, which currently means a person making their check +1 difficulty to do double damage. Now it would be D4+2 damage instead. Or maybe just roll 2D4. I’d have to see what feels better, but I think the former because I don’t think my nieces have 2D4 each.

So yeah, should add a bit of variety to pacing, and make the system closer to a traditional RPG to help transition the kids as they get older. I imagine I’ll playtest this idea next time I run the game for them, and if it seems good I’ll write up the changes and release an updated rule PDF.

Leave a Comment

