Online adaptation of Road Trip! dice game

example-road-trip-gameHey…boom, the link:

Play Road Trip! online 🚗

As a fun project I made an online web version of my Road Trip! solo dice placement game. The adaptation is completely faithful, with the main difference being you have a timer running, which adds an interesting option to race yourself and try to get lower and lower times to win.

There are also neat features like customizable dice colors, a little car that drives along to show progress, background images from my own trip, an optional snow effect, and so on. Manageable to play on a mobile device or small screen if desired.

One more time, here is the game: Road Trip! online 🚗 (or an alternate link)

If you’re a developer who is interested in the code, I wrote it in plain JS/HTML/CSS with Alpine.js tacked on (as something fun to try that I definitely enjoyed and want to use again in more depth), jQuery (old fashioned!) for drag-and-drop, and Notyf as a toast container. Feel free to check out the code on my Github:
https://github.com/horizoncarlo/road-trip-online
There’s no backend or build step so you can run it locally by simply opening index.html.

Leave a Comment